Skip to main content

WWF on Environmental and Social Safeguards (ESS)

The term “Environmental and Social Safeguards (or Standards)” is used by development institutions, international treaties and agencies to refer to policies, standards and operational procedures designed to first identify and then try to avoid, mitigate and minimize adverse environmental and social impacts that may arise in the implementation of development projects. ESS also have a pro-active dimension to try to increase chances that development projects deliver better outcomes for people and the environment.
Modern ESS attempt to address and redress a large array of issues
For example, the World Bank’s ESS, under review during 2015-2016 (available here ), takes up 140 pages and beyond the policy and procedural sections includes 10 chapters detailing standards and procedures to address
ESS 1. Assessment and Management of Environmental and Social Risks and Impacts
ESS 2. Labor and Working Conditions
ESS 3. Resource Efficiency and Pollution Prevention and Management
ESS 4. Community Health and Safety
ESS 5. Land Acquisition, Restrictions on Land Use and Involuntary Resettlement
ESS 6. Biodiversity Conservation and Sustainable Management
ESS 7. Indigenous Peoples
ESS 8. Cultural Heritage
ESS 9. Financial Intermediaries
ESS 10. Stakeholder Engagement and Information Disclosure